And The Oscar Goes To…(The 2017 Edition)

And that’s a wrap. Another year of awards season has come to a conclusion and what a conclusion it was. The 89th Academy Awards was one of the most exciting and memorable Oscar shows I have seen. I like Jimmy Kimmel and didn’t think he’d do a bad job but I didn’t realise how brilliant he’d be; he was so on point and hilarious with sharp with and really knew how to keep the audiences interest.

I’m also excited because there was quite a diverse range of films being honoured; La La Land received some big awards but so did Moonlight. Most of the winners I was so happy with and somethings it’s good for it to turn out the way you hoped but then there are some surprises which you have to go along with and are also happy about. I have to say on a less serious note I’m actually excited Suicide Squad is now an Oscar winning film, I’ll take anything for that film because I really enjoyed it.

LA LA LAND (6 WINS)

la-la-land-afi-best-of-2016

  • Best Director (Damien Chazelle)
  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role (Emma Stone)
  • Best Score (Justin Hurwitz)
  • Best Original Song “City Of Stars” (Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul)
  • Best Cinematography (Linus Sandgren)
  • Best Production Design (Dave Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco)

La La Land has been the front and centre during this awards season. Winning a record breaking 7 Golden Globes last month to grossing $369 million worldwide against a budget of $30 and receiving critical acclaim with score of 93% by Rotten Tomatoes, La La Land has caught people’s attention to say the least.

I am so thrilled for Emma Stone who gave such a memorable performance showcasing her hopes and dreams as well as vulnerability and bringing life to the screen. She’s a great actress in general so I’m happy she has been recognised with an Oscar win. Damien Chazelle is a visionary and created a lush and real world, it’s refreshing to see original work rewarded in this way. I loved Whiplash (2014) for which Chazelle was nominated an Oscar for Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay so I was happy for him to win this year. La La Land had to win Cinematography and Production Design; such a vision of a film. Colourful, vibrant, full of expression and wonder. Not to mention that stunning soundtrack; it’s head creating anything modern that can be viewed as iconic and Justin Hurwitz did just that.

Now onto the moment everyone is talking about. Warren Beatty is on my enemy list now; I was watching the moment La La Land was announced at the “winner” until Moonlight became the eventual winner and I was thinking “What on earth Warren!”. Whether it’s his fault or not I’m not sure but I’m sorry, he didn’t really seem “with it” so….I was shocked and confused. However, at the end of the day La La Land won 6 Oscars and was recognised for Leading Actress, Director and Music so it won big awards and I’m pleased for that. So it may not have won Best Picture but it was nominated at the end of the day and the film still has had a huge impact on people.

MOONLIGHT (3 WINS)

moonlightmain

  • Best Motion Picture of the Year (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Adele Romanski)
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role (Mahershala Ali)
  • Best Adapted Screenplay (Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney)

The ACTUAL Best Picture winner was a film that was made on a shoestring budget of over $1 million and now had grossed over $25 million and now is an Oscar winning film.

Personally I would have loved Dev Patel to win but I was still pleased that Mahershala won because he gave a sensitive and multi-dimensional performance as Juan. I’m so happy for Barry Jenkins as well, he may not have won Best Director but he walked away with an Oscar for bringing to life Tarell’s play and life story to the screen for Best Adapted Screenplay so I’m happy with that result. Lastly if any film was to beat La La Land it was going to be Moonlight and I’ve made my peace with the result because it was a beautifully raw and effortless film.

MANCHESTER BY THE SEA (2 WINS)

manchesterbythesea_trailer

  • Best Original Screenplay (Kenneth Lonergan)
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role (Casey Affleck)

Even though I was hoping La La Land would win Original Screenplay I think Manchester By The Sea is deserving of this award. I was so engaged and immersed with this world that you forgot that it’s not based on any previously written material but it was perfectly constructed story. Kenneth gave a delicate touch to a story of grief and loss, it wasn’t over dramatised or heightened in emotion but it was real and natural.

As the Oscars approached I thought Denzel Washington may win his third Oscar but I’m actually happy that Casey won in the end. Denzel was great in Fences, but it was a very loud performance and seemed quite self indulgent for Washington (to showcase what an amazing actor he is) that I appreciated the nuanced performance from Affleck more. Affleck gave a quite yet powerful performance and after winning the Golden Globe and BAFTA for the same role it was no shock that he would win Best Actor.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

89th Annual Academy Awards - Press Room

Viola Davis took away the Oscar for Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role for Fences. The film was filled with great performances but Viola was the standout and gave such a heartbreaking performance of a woman who had hopes and dreams but eventually gave them up for her husband who should have treated her better. She holds back when she needs to but let’s go when she needs to stand up for herself. After being nominated twice previously (Doubt – 2008 and The Help – 2011) I’m happy Davis is now an Oscar winning actress.

Zootropolis won Best Animated Feature Film of the Year, it was up against fellow Disney nominee Moana but Zootropolis had a very timely message so I know why it won the Oscar. A deserving win for an animation that is unique and fun yet throughout provoking and appealing to all ages.

 
Well that’s it for another year. Here’s to the 90th Academy Awards in 2018!

Leave a Reply

