Collision Film Is Getting A Reboot

Hello everyone! It’s been a while but I’ve decided to reboot my blog and continue on with my musings and ramblings about film. Collision Film is an outlet for me to share my views on various topics regarding film; not just regarding recent or upcoming releases but exploring vast topics one can discuss when talking about films. To restart this blog I wanted to share with you my viewing habits and how I approach watching a film.

Film is a subjective medium. That’s the beauty of it; everyone can watch one film and yet have varied responses. I love how film can create discussions and engage people in conversations. The amazing thing about film is that even within itself there is such variety in genres and stories that are being told (I know it feels like we live in a world of sequels and reboots but look closer and there is diversity if you notice it).

People often ask that given the fact I closely analyse films in my head whether that hinders my experience of enjoying a film. My response would be it’s quite the opposite; it enhances my experience and allows me to really engage with the film. I’m that person at the cinema who will gasp or jump during a tense and exciting scene or that will shout at the screen when I’m frustrated with events unfolding in the film. Equally if it’s a really deep film that requires my full attention I’m very quiet and allow myself to get lost in the moment.

shia-labeouf

(Shia LeBeouf is movie watching goals)

Following on from my previous point, each film requires us to wear different “hats”. By that I mean if I’m watching brainless action fun like Transformers (2007) or San Andreas (2015) I don’t sit there with my notepad and analyse the narrative structure; I take off my film critic hat and enjoy the ride. Yet if I’m watching films like Never Let Me Go (2010) or Brooklyn (2015) which explore deep themes of belonging, mortality, identity etc. then I definitely analyse those films in my head because to me they are art. On the other hand even though I have my frustrations with the amount of sequels and reboots of recent times, I still give them the benefit of the doubt and pray it was worth making. I’ve written previously about my love/hate relationship with the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) and even though DC Films haven’t quite matched the success of the MCU I still give them a chance to impress me. So in short I approach each film differently and you have to in order to keep an open mind regarding film.

never-let-me-go

(Carey Mulligan in Never Let Me Go – 2010)

Expanding the point raised before about how I often closely analyse films, I need a few moments after I’ve watched the film to digest what I’ve watched and then I can give a basic review. However I need more time to let it sink in and then I can give a fully formed review. If you know me then you’ll know not to ask me as soon as the credits roll if I enjoyed the film or not; my answer will be to let me think about it for a minute. What I find helpful is sitting through most of the credits to just have a moment to think. Sometimes in the moment you can either love it or hate it and then moments later upon reflection reconsider your initial opinion, or you could be undecided and give yourself time to come to a decision of how you enjoyed the film.

One reason I would say my film taste is varied is because I love experiencing different stories and it’s a chance to explore different walks of life. If I only loved one genre then that wouldn’t help me broaden my horizons in my film taste, in order to have an open mind you need to have a vast scope of what you watch. That way you can have multiple discussions because you haven’t restricted yourself to one type of film.

Thank you for listening to me ramble on about how I approach film. By all means read what the critics are saying to get a good sense of how a film is being received, but you’ll only know for yourself if you watch the film and form your own opinion.

037-singing-in-the-rain-theredlist

(Singin’ in the Rain – 1952)

Leave a Reply

